Growing Up With Star Wars: The Movies

When I was young, my father and I would spend time watching the first three Star Wars movies to be released. The movies were: Episode IV  A New Hope, Episode V The Empire Strikes Back, and Episode VI Return of the Jedi. My father told me of the time I was able to recite the words of the movies as they were playing! Though I could not understand very much of what was going on, I was able to get a good grasp on the difference between good and evil. One of the most vivid memories I have from my childhood was “Great Pit of Carkoon” from Return of the Jedi. The reason why this is one of the most memorable moments is still a mystery to me. Another memory was seeing Han Solo frozen in carbonite. The thought of this boggled my mind for some time every time I saw it. The way Han Solo was frozen and how quickly it happened  was the most amazing to me.

In 1999, my father and I went to see Episode I The Phantom Menace in theaters. The Podraces were the coolest part of the movie to me at the time. The use of hovercrafts was intriguing even more so because I knew then that hovercrafts do not exist . Not only was young Anakin Skywalker able to beat the champion, Sebulba, but he was the youngest in history to ever win a podrace. This was inspiring to me because this showed me that even young people can achieve great things. The quality of the movie was noticeably better,  even to me at the time.

After being separated from my father , I lived with my mother who was not as big of a Star Wars fan as my father and I. Even though my mother took me to see Episode II Attack of the Clones and Episode III Revenge of the Sith, we were unable to connect in the way my father and I had in the previous years. Sadly because my mother and I did not discuss the movies as my father and I did, I do not remember these movies as well as the others.

Leave a Reply

