Growing Up With Star Wars: Video Games

The very first Star Wars video game I ever played Star Wars Episode I: Racer.  This game came out in 1999 and was a different type of racing game than other racing games. This probably explains why I was so bad at it. I was 6 at the time and my hands and brain were still growing. The next Star Wars game I played was Star Wars: Bounty Hunter. One of my favorite video games even now which came out in 2002.  This is because it was one of the first games that allowed me to use my brain in the way that I wanted to while enjoying a campaign. My favorite mission was the sixth mission, “Upper City”. It took me the longest to complete and was the most fun because I was able to drop down from the ceiling and kill my enemies.

A game I was not able to play was Star Wars: Galaxies. My father showed me this game about a year ago and I was amazed at the capabilities this game allowed. This game came out in 2002 and was far more advanced than any other game I have  played in my life. Luckily I pre-ordered a new video game called Star Wars: The Old Republic for my PC. After seeing the game play of Star Wars: Galaxies, reading about SWTOR and watching trailers of the game, I am convinced that this will be one of the best, if not the best game I have ever played. When my father and I found out that we were able to pre-order the game online, we seized the opportunity. We ordered the ”Star Wars: The Old Republic Digital Deluxe Edition”. This version of the game allows special opportunities that otherwise would not be available to us. It is not the “Star Wars: The Old Republic Collector’s Edition”, but it is better than the “Star Wars: The Old Republic Standard Edition”.

I am finding it quite difficult to choose what class I will play as. What will my playing style be? Will I choose to play on the “Light” or the “Dark” side? Will I rely more on defense or offense? Will I be sneaky while killing my enemy, or charge right into battle? So many options to choose from and I don’t know where to begin. I will have to wait for more information to be released.

Leave a Reply

